isla verde

Today is my 26th birthday! I am really sad to see 25 go because it has been such a great year. We moved to Guatemala shortly after my birthday last year, and it’s been a year full of adventure and growth for us.

On Saturday morning, we woke up to SUN which was great because it has been raining non-stop all week! It was a rainy season miracle. We took a lancha (boat) across the lake to a boutique hotel called Isla Verde in Santa Cruz. They had a great little restaurant, places to read and relax, and a beautiful view of the lake. Not a bad way to celebrate being 26.

IMG_2979

Let it be known that there was a day of sun in the middle of rainy season.

IMG_2988

Apparently, this is the face I make when Jon points a camera at me.

IMG_2997

IMG_3001

Some gorgeous flowers around our house. Okay, rainy season, maybe I do like how green you make everything.

IMG_3008

IMG_3033

It was overcast on the lake, but it somehow managed to stay dry all day.

IMG_3042

IMG_3049

The inside of a lancha.

IMG_3056

IMG_3057

IMG_3059

IMG_3061

IMG_3069

IMG_3079

IMG_3082

IMG_3083

IMG_3086

This was the restaurant at Isla Verde… isn’t it charming?

IMG_3087

IMG_3091

Some kayakers on the lake. I keep getting Jon to do this with me but he is reluctant. Maybe during the dry season?

IMG_3094

IMG_3095

IMG_3100

We stayed here to read for a while. Jon got me some new books for my birthday so I’m glad I brought my kindle!

IMG_3112

IMG_3123

Some really cool hanging flowers at Isla Verde. They were all over and we kept seeing hummingbirds flying around.

IMG_3125

IMG_3139

IMG_3131

IMG_3132

Classic.

IMG_3143

IMG_3148

It was a perfect low-key way to celebrate my birthday, and I’m grateful for Jon for spoiling me as always. He even got me my favorite treats and food to make chilaquiles with salsa verde–my all-time favorite food. He’s been making me this on my birthday since before we started dating so I feel pretty lucky.

Here’s to year 26! I hope it’s just as good as 25.

Leave a Reply

