belize

For this visa run, Jon and I went to Belize with my in-laws. It was so fun! Belize wasn’t a place that I had ever considered going to, but it lined up perfectly with the timing of our visa run and was a great way for us to spend time with Jon’s family. Plus, who can say no to vacation in a tropical paradise?

We stayed overnight in Guatemala City and then headed over to Belize with Jon’s parents. We then got on a tiny (like 10 person!) plane to go to the island of San Pedro of the coast of Belize. After we landed, we took about a 10-minute boat ride up to where we were staying for the next 4 days.

The first full day we were there, we saw a wedding happening on the beach right outside our room. It was so sweet! Kathy (my mother-in-law) and I watched the whole thing. We were talking about how fun it was to watch other people’s weddings but not have to be involved in the planning/execution of it. (So true!) The couple seemed really sweet and we had a great time watching the ceremony. Afterward, we could hear the music from the reception. The guys were making fun of us, but I thought it was fun to observe!

We also had some great food while there (thankfully!). We ate at a really great tapas restaurant, a food truck roundup, and a place with homemade jerk chicken. Each place was fantastic and made me remember what delicious, flavorful food tasted like (come on, Guatemala, why is your food sub-par?).

On our second full day, we went snorkeling off of a boat, which was really fun! We saw some coral, which sadly is dying (probably from obnoxious tourists like myself). We also saw some cool fish and sharks! Which was amazing. The water was so clear and blue.

Jon and my father-in-law went fishing almost every morning, so during the afternoon, we ate fresh fish. We had lobster, different kinds of crab, triggerfish, grunt, snapper, and croaker. They were delicious, especially with the salsas/spices they had.

It was a perfect getaway for me and Jon, and it was a treat to see my in-laws. I’m coming back to Guatemala feeling really refreshed!

IMG_0340

The view from our small hopper plane to San Pedro.

IMG_0428

IMG_0439

IMG_0449

IMG_0477

IMG_0538

Jon loves it when I take pictures.

IMG_0643

I would never get tired of this view.

IMG_0666

IMG_0675

IMG_0686

The water was so gorgeous! Such a pretty blue color.

IMG_0743

The food truck round-up. We got pizza, Mexican, and Thai food. It was so good!

IMG_0745

IMG_0750

IMG_0752

IMG_0754

IMG_0781

Cucumber Mojito. Super refreshing.

IMG_0790

IMG_0819

Check out this view! I could not stop taking pictures, ha!

IMG_0860

Jon fully clothed because he was sunburnt at this point. Womp, womp.

IMG_0861

IMG_0866

IMG_0867

IMG_0878

IMG_0903

IMG_0916

IMG_0929

IMG_0930

It was a perfect long weekend with my in-laws, and I really love spending time with them. For now, back to real life! Sigh…

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

